Leadership - Home


Leadership - Header


The ITI's Board of Directors and four Committees are made up of Fellows from various disciplines and countries.

The Fellows who sit on the Board and the four Committees volunteer their time and expertise towards defining and achieving the goals of the ITI. As the ITI's industry partner, Straumann has up to two seats on the Board and each of the Committees.

These five bodies answer to the General Assembly that comprises all ITI Fellows and meets once a year for the ITI Annual General Meeting.

Nested Applications

Leadership - Organigram

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The ITI Board of Directors oversees the mid- and long term goals and provides the strategic direction for the organization. It also oversees the ITI's finances and allocates funds to the Committees.

Charlotte Stilwell, London, United KingdomPresident
Stephen Chen, Balwyn, Melbourne, AustraliaPast President
Tara Aghaloo, Los Angeles, USAMember at large
Bilal Al-Nawas, Mainz, GermanyChair, ITI Research Committee
Eiji Funakoshi, Fukuoka, JapanMember at large
Nikos Mattheos, Hong Kong, China SARMember at large
Mario Roccuzzo, Turin, ItalyChair, Leadership Development Committee
Daniel Wismeijer, Amsterdam, NetherlandsChair, ITI Education Committee
Gilbert Achermann, Basel, Switzerland 
Guillaume Daniellot, Basel, Switzerland 

Education Committee

Education Committee

Education represents the core of the ITI's mission. The ITI develops, conducts and supports educational activities and projects for professionals in implant dentistry.

Daniel Wismeijer, Amsterdam, Netherlands (Chair)
Merete Aaboe, Vedbæk, Denmark
Michael Bornstein, Basel, Switzerland
Vivianne Chappuis, Bern, Switzerland
Anthony Dawson, Deakin, Australia
Tabea Flügge, Berlin, Germany
German Gallucci, Boston, USA
Chatchai Kunavisarut, Bangkok, Thailand
Alejandro Lanis, Santiago, Chile
Nikos Mattheos, Hong Kong, China SAR
Irena Sailer, Geneva, Switzerland
Daniela Felipucci, Basel, Switzerland

Research Committee

Research Committee

With an allocation of USD 2 million annually, the ITI finances research projects in implant dentistry and related fields. The Committee meets twice a year to review and decide on grant applications.

Bilal Al-Nawas, Mainz, Germany (Chair)
Tara Aghaloo, Los Angeles, USA
Juan Blanco Carrión, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Urs Brägger, Bern, Switzerland
Reinhard Gruber, Vienna, Austria
Ronald Jung, Zurich, Switzerland
Johannes Kleinheinz, Munster, Germany
France Lambert, Liège, Belgium
Martin Schimmel, Bern, Switzerland
Michel Mallaun, Basel, Switzerland
Benjamin Pippenger, Basel, Switzerland
You do not have the roles required to access this portlet.

Leadership Development Committee

Leadership Development Committee

The ITI fosters leadership by supporting clinicians in furthering their training in implant dentistry and related fields through its one-year Scholarship program.

Mario Roccuzzo, Turin, Italy (Chair)
Gary Finelle, Paris, France
Georges Gebran, Beirut, Lebanon
Luiz Gonzaga, Gainesville, USA
Oscar González Martín, Madrid, Spain
Martina Stefanini, Bologna, Italy
Holger Haderer, Basel, Switzerland


ITI Presidents

The ITI President guides the strategic development of the organization and is elected for a four-year term of office by the General Assembly of Fellows.

  • Charlotte Stilwell

    London, UK

    Since 2021

  • Stephen Chen

    Melbourne, Australia

    2017 - 2021

  • David Cochran

    San Antonio, USA

    2013 - 2017

  • Daniel Buser

    Bern, Switzerland

    2009 - 2013

  • Dieter Weingart

    Stuttgart, Germany

    2005 - 2009

  • Thomas D. Taylor

    Farmington CT, USA


  • Niklaus P. Lang

    Bern, Switzerland


  • Wilfried Schilli

    Freiburg, Germany


  • André Schroeder

    Bern, Switzerland